Participating states

The unitary effect of UP patents will apply only in those EU Member States which decided to participate in the system and the UPC will have jurisdiction only for those states. Non-EU Countries will not be affected at all.

Some EU Member States decided to participate from the beginning. Some others may join later. Spain and Croatia have no intention to participate.

Initial coverage UP/UPC

EPC states which are EU member states and have ratified the UPC Agreement (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovenia, Sweden)

Expected coverage UP/UPC

EPC states which are EU member states but have not ratified the UPC Agreement yet (Cyprus, Czech Republic, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Poland, Roma-nia, Slovakia); these are expected to join at some point in the future

No coverage

EPC states which are not EU member states (Albania, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Norway, San Marino, Serbia, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom) or do not participate in the system (Spain, Croatia)